Welcome to the Travis County Tax Assessor / Collector's Accessible Website. To enable the Text View preference just press enter.
Skip To Main Content
If you would like to skip the main content and go directly to a property tax name search press enter now.
If you would like to skip the main content and go directly to a voter name search press enter now.
To hear about whats new on this site simply press enter
Home
Information
Updates
Newcomers
properties-main
properties-foreclosures properties-payment options properties-pay taxes properties-research taxes properties-tax breaks properties-Rates+Exemptions properties-Delinquent Taxes properties-Dates+Definitions properties-Property Tax Forms voters-Main voters-Voter Verification voters-Voter Registration voters-Elections voters-Early Voting voters-Polling Places voters-Jurisdiction Information voters-Voter Statistics voters-Volunteer Registrar voters-Voter Forms Vehicles-Main Vehicles-Vehicles Registration Vehicles-License Renewals Vehicles-Title Transfers Vehicles-Substations Vehicles-Policies Vehicles-Vehicle Forms Questions News Links Preferences-Default Theme Preferences-Text View Preferences-Large Theme Preferences-Larger Theme Preferences-Largest Theme
Travis
Home Red Star Search Red Star Site Map Red Star Contact Us Red Star facebook Red Star twitter
Travis County Vehicles
Vehicles Images
Red Bar
 
Properties Voters Vehicles Questions News Preferences
Vehicle Button

Vehicle Registration
License Renewals
Title Transfers
Substations
Policies
Vehicle Forms
Vehicle Registration

Vehicle registration is an annual fee paid by drivers in a given county to their local Tax Office. Because a portion of every registration goes directly to the ongoing upkeep and maintenance of roads in that county, being sure to pay on time and to the correct county's Tax Office is an important obligation for Texas residents.

Vehicle Registration Renewal: The Basics

    There are five ways to renew vehicle registration in Travis County.
    Registration ends on the last day of the month. Law enforcement generally (but not always) allows for an informal 5 business-day "grace period" to renew after that. If you receive a ticket from law enforcement for driving with expired registration, you must renew in-person or by phone. You will be charged a 20% penalty in addition to your renewal fee. You will keep the same renewal month.
    Renewal notices are mailed out 4-6 weeks before the registration is set to expire. Call (512) 854-9473 to update your mailing address if you move between renewals. You can also update your address online here. There are several ways to renew registration without a notice. When you renew in-person at a Tax Office, you receive your new sticker (and plates if required) at the time of your visit. Other renewal methods (phone, online, mail) require 5-14 days for processing and delivery.
    All vehicles must have current insurance that meets Texas liability minimums in order to renew. Refer to your policy's declarations page to review your coverage. Contact your insurance provider with questions about your vehicle insurance. While most Texans' insurance can be verified electronically through TxDMV's partnership with TexasSure, have your insurance documentation available when you renew.
    To calculate your registration renewal amount, refer to the registration fee schedule below. If your registration has expired, call (512) 854-9473 with your vehicle identification number (VIN) for the correct fee. If your renewal notice indicates new plates required, you will not be charged an additional fee for those plates. They are issued automatically when you renew (in-person at a tax office, by phone, by mail or online).
    Make your check or money order payable to the Travis County Tax Assessor-Collector. Find our mailing address and locations on the Contact Us page. Do not mail cash.

Back to top

Registration Fee Schedule for Travis County

  • Commonly Registered Vehicles
    $64.25 = Passenger Vehicles and Light Trucks weighing up to 6,000 pounds ($50.75 registration + $13.50 local fees)
    $58.50 = Trailers up to 6,000 pounds ($45.00 registration + $13.50 local fees)
    $43.50 = Motorcycles ($30.00 registration + $13.50 local fees)
    $ 7.00 = Replacement License Plates/Registration Stickers ($6.00 replacement fee + $1.00 local fees)
  • Heavy Vehicles
    $ 67.50 = Vehicles weighing 6,001-10,000 pounds ($54 registration + $13.50 local fees)
    $123.50 = Vehicles weighing 10,001-18,000 pounds ($110 registration + $13.50 local fees)
    $218.50 = Vehicles weighing 18,001-25,999 pounds ($205 registration + $13.50 local fees)
    $353.50 = Vehicles weighing 26,000-40,000 pounds ($340 registration + $13.50 local fees)
    $548.50 = Vehicles weighing 40,001-54,999 pounds ($535 registration + $13.50 local fees)
    $753.50 = Vehicles weighing 55,000-70,000 pounds ($740 registration + $13.50 local fees)
    $853.50 = Vehicles weighing 70,001-80,000 pounds ($840 registration + $13.50 local fees)
    Varies = Vehicles weighing 80,001 pounds or more - call (512) 854-9473 with the VIN for exact fees
  • Processing Fees
    $1.00 = Mail-in fee
    $3.00 = Fee charged by www.texas.gov to renew online
    $3.00 = Credit or debit card processing fee for payments up to $100.00 when paying in-person or by phone through our office.
    3% = Credit or debit card processing fee for payments over $100.00 when paying in-person or by phone through our office.

Back to top

New to Texas

    These are the steps to follow - in this order - to register/title your vehicle(s) and get a Texas driver's license:
  • Proof of Insurance: Get insurance that meets Texas 30/60/25 requirements. That's $30,000 liability, $60,000 for personal injury and $25,000 for property damage. If you plan to use out-of-state insurance, you must bring in the declarations page of your policy. Read more about insurance requirements here. Certain states' insurance can never be accepted in Texas. If you have coverage from Washington DC, Florida, Hawaii, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico or Utah, you must change your insurance coverage to Texas before we will be able to title or register your vehicle(s).
  • Proof of Inspection: Get a Department of Public Safety (DPS) Vehicle Identification Certificate (VI-30A sheet) from a state inspection station in Travis County. Most dealerships, mechanics and full-service gas stations can perform state inspections. Read more about vehicle inspections here.
  • Proof of Ownership: We can accept either the original title or the vehicle's most recent registration receipt. Please note: If you are still making payments to a lienholder on your vehicle, you must also provide the full lienholder name, address, city, state, zip code and the first lien date.
  • Valid Photo ID: Travis County residents titling a vehicle in the state and first-time registrants must show identification. The following types of identification will be accepted:
      - driver's license or state identification certification issued by a state or territory of the U.S.
      - U.S. or foreign passport.
      - U.S. military identification.
      - North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) identification or identification issued under a U.S. Status of Forces Agreement
      - U.S. Department of Homeland Security identification.
      - U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services documentation.
      - U.S. Department of State ID.

    Additional identification requirements apply in some circumstances, including:

      - Motor vehicles titled in more than one name - identification of one owner
      - Motor vehicles in the name of a leasing company - identification of the lessee OR the lessor's employee with a business card or authorization written on the lessor's letterhead matching the identification of the employee
      - Motor vehicles in the name of a trust - identification of a trustee
      - Motor vehicles in the name of a business, government entity or organization - identification of the applicant with a business card or authorization written on letterhead matching the identification of the applicant.
      - Transfer using Power of Attorney - identification matching the person or employee of the entity named as power of attorney, and a business card or authorization written on the letterhead of an entity named as power of attorney that matches the identification of the employee, and identification of the owner or lienholder.
  • Application for Texas Title: (VTR 130-U) - Used to create the official state record for the vehicle. A new Texas title is only created when an out-of-state title is surrendered as proof of ownership. Original signature of buyer(s) and seller(s) are required and must match the signatures on the Assignment of Title. The legal name on the buyer's photo ID must match the name on the VTR 130-U.
  • Application for Registration Purposes Only - RPO: (VTR-272) - Used ONLY when the most recent registration receipt is provided as proof of ownership. Must be completed in addition to the VTR 130-U. Call (512) 854-9473 for help completing this form in advance, or have a Tax Office specialist help you while you are here in-person.
    Once you have these 3 pieces of documentation, you will bring them in to any of our five Tax Office locations for processing. Call (512) 854-9473 if you have any questions about these requirements.
  • New Resident Title/Registration Fees
    $90.00 "new resident" fee - for the vehicle, new to Texas roads, when ownership stays the same.
    $33.00 title/recording fee
    $64.25 registration fee for all cars and light trucks. If you are registering something other than a car or truck weighing 6,000 pounds or less, refer to the registration fee schedule above.
    TOTAL - $187.25 - in most cases, this is what you can expect to pay, per vehicle you already own, for 1st time registration.
    If you are transferring a title into your name using an out-of-state title, sales tax at 6.25% is due instead of the $90 "new resident" fee. The other two fees will remain the same. Visit Title Transfers for more information about requirements for changing ownership of a motor vehicle.

Back to top

New to Travis County

    If you have moved to Travis County from another county in Texas, the registration process from your prior county is the same, but the fees may be slightly different. See the fee schedule above. Renew in-person at a Tax Office, by phone or by mail. Provide your new Travis County address, your current proof of insurance and a valid photo ID.

Back to top

Disabled Parking

    To obtain disabled person license plates and/or parking placards, complete and submit the Application for Disabled Person Identification (VTR-214) to our office in-person or by mail. A doctor's notarized signature or a prescription from a physician is required with each application. Rules and regulations about disabled plates and placards can be found on the application form itself. Follow the instructions on the application form carefully. Call (512) 854-9473 for assistance.
    Four of our five locations can provide disabled person plates and/or placards via the drive-through. You may also send in a friend or family member to obtain these items for you. Mailed applications take 10-14 days for processing and delivery. Contact the tax office or visit us in-person to replace a lost or stolen placard or plate.
    If you are applying on behalf of a disabled person, include that person's Texas Drivers License number (TXDL#) or Texas DPS Identification Card number (TXID#) on the application. Only Travis County residents who are on active-duty in the U.S. military but stationed out-of-state may list an out-of-state driver's license number. All other applications must include the TXDL or TXID number of the disabled person.

    Temporary placards are good for six months and must be renewed at the end of that period with a new application form and new prescription or doctor's notarized statement. Non-Texas residents are eligible for a temporary placard if they are receiving medical treatment in Texas. Temporarily disabled individuals may receive either one or two placards, but are not allowed disabled plates. Temporary disability placards are $5.00 each. Placards can be used by the disabled person in any vehicle in which they are a driver or a passenger.

    Permanent placards and/or plates are good for four years and only require a new application form to be renewed. A new prescription or notarized physician's statement is not required.
    Permanently disabled persons may request one set of plates and one placard, or two placards. Permanent disability placards are issued at no cost. Placards can be used by the disabled person in any vehicle in which they are a driver or a passenger.

    If the vehicle is already registered, and disabled license plates are added or transferred from another vehicle, there is a $1 automation fee charged at the time of exchange. If the vehicle is being titled or registered at the time of application, the annual registration fee is charged. If a license plate is lost, the replacement fee is $7.00.

Back to top

New Plates Required

    If your renewal notice indicates new plates required, you will not be charged an additional fee for those plates. They are issued automatically when you renew (in-person at a tax office, by phone, by mail or online).
    You cannot obtain new license plates at our HEB substations or at the City of Jonestown office.

Back to top

Special and/or Personalized License Plates

    Special and personalized plates are ordered online either through MyPlates.com or from the TxDMV special plates website, depending on the type of plate desired. Once produced, your plates are mailed to our main office at 5501 Airport Boulevard within 2 - 4 weeks.
    Call (512) 854-9473 to determine if your special plates are available for pick up. When you come to get your plates, bring current proof of insurance for the vehicle the plates will be attached to and a valid photo ID. If you need to send someone to pick up your special plates for you, please complete this Limited Power of Attorney (Español) form to authorize them to transact with us on your behalf.

Back to top

Federal Privacy Protection Act

    The Federal Privacy Protection Act (18 U.S.C. 2721) places certain restrictions on the release of personal information. To comply with this legislation, duplicate renewals may only be released to the vehicle owner of record contained in the state's records. Contact the Tax Office at (512) 854-9473 for details on how we can accommodate customers' needs in light of this federal amendment.

Back to top

Information
Red Star

Vehicle Registration Basics

Red Star

Registration Fees

Red Star

New To Texas

Red Star

New to Travis County

Red Star

Disabled Parking

Red Star

New Plates Required?

Red Star

Ordering Special Plates

Red Star

Federal Privacy Protection Act

Link to Vehicles Questions Page Link to Vehicles Links Page Link to Contact Page
HOME  |  SEARCH  |  SITE MAP  |  CONTACT US  |  PROPERTIES  |  VOTERS  |  VEHICLES  |  QUESTIONS  |  NEWS  |  LINKS
LEGAL DISCLAIMER  |  PRIVACY POLICY  |  SECURITY POLICY
 ©2004 Easy Access, Inc - All Rights Reserved 
Message 1
Message Text
Need your property tax receipt? Click here to download, print, or view!
Link
http://www.traviscountytax.org/displayLastStep.do
Message 2
Message Text
Need to renew your vehicle's registration? Click here!
Link
http://www.traviscountytax.org/goVehiclesRegistration.do
Message 3
Message Text
Register to vote! Click here!
Link
http://www.traviscountytax.org/goVoters.do
Message 4
Message Text
Fraud Alert: Beware of Telephone Scam!
Link
http://www.traviscountytax.org/goNews.do